Skip to main content
Skip to footer
We're taking you to another TCS website now.

TCS’ Dr Gautam Shroff and Dr Lipika Dey elected as Indian National Academy of Engineers (INAE) Fellows

Dr Gautam Shroff, Senior Vice President and Head, TCS Research, and Dr Lipika Dey, Principal Scientist, TCS Research, have been named[1] among the 2021 elected Indian National Academy of Engineers (INAE) Fellows. They have been elected under the ‘Engineering Section II - Computer Engineering and Information Technology’.

The INAE honors Indian and foreign nationals who are elected by peer committees for their personal achievements in the field of engineering. Election to the Academy is by nomination only. Founded in 1987, INAE is the apex body[2] that promotes the practice of engineering and technology, and allied sciences for their application to solving problems of national importance. These achievements are of exceptional merit, demonstrating distinctive eminence in new and developing fields of technology.

The INAE Fellows were inducted with effect from November 1, 2021. No more than 50 Fellows from academia, research and development, and industry may be elected[3] each year from nominations received from Fellows of INAE affiliated to various streams of engineering.

Here’s a quick look at the career milestones of Dr Shroff and Dr Dey.

Lipika Dey

Dr Shroff currently leads the research agenda at TCS Research across areas. He joined TCS in the year 1998, and has since then worked in the areas of computational mathematics, parallel computation, big data, artificial intelligence, machine learning and deep learning, Bayesian inference, natural language processing, and others. To add to his list of merits, he has published over 100 research papers in reputed conferences and journals.

“It is an honor and privilege to be elected as a Fellow of the INAE,” says Dr Shroff. 

“I look forward to contributing to the goals of the INAE in promoting excellence in the engineering profession in India.”

Prior to joining TCS, Dr Shroff was a faculty of the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, and thereafter of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi. He also held visiting positions at NASA Ames Research Center in Mountain View, CA, and at Argonne National Labs in Chicago.

Dr Dey leads research teams of natural language processing, data and text mining, and business intelligence at TCS Research.

“I feel happy that my contributions to the field of language technology have been recognized and honored,” Dr Dey said on being elected. “I believe it will encourage more women in the field of computing to put in their best, despite all the hurdles they face, strong in the belief that hard work always pays off,” she added.

Lipika Dey

Dr Dey joined TCS in 2007, prior to which she was a member of the Faculty of Department of Mathematics at IIT Delhi. She is also the founding member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) – Women in India committee and is a Program Evaluation committee member of Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB) for imprint program, as well as an external Senate Member for IIT Patna and IIT Delhi.

[1] Indian National Academy of Engineering; Nomination-Information;; Accessed Dec 13, 2021
[2] Indian National Academy of Engineering; About-us;; Accessed Dec 13, 2021
[3] ibid. 

Connect with us to transform your workplace

*Required field
*Enter valid First Name
First Name
*Required field
*Enter valid Last Name
Last Name
*Required field
*Email syntax error
*Please use your business email.
*Required field
*Enter valid company name
Company Name
What's your challenge

Thank you for your interest

We will shortly connect.

Click here to submit another form.