Army School's gutsy win at Pune


Army School - Gyanendra Mishra and Siddharth Agarwal


Vikhe Patil Memorial School - Krunaal Tavkar and Jaynandan Gejji

Army School versus Vikhe Patil. The battle went on and on in the tie breaker after both teams finished on 50 points apiece after a tense quiz. It prompted quizmaster Pickbrain to quip “I have a late evening flight and will not run out of questions” as the battle for supremacy seemed never ending.

The finalists at Pune were:

Dr.Kalmadi Shamarao - Ayush Yembarwar and Dhananjay Katkar
Orchid School - Utkarsh Pant and Tanmay K
Fergusson College - Aditya Mitkari and R Supreeth
Delhi Public School - Kshitij Bhatawdekar and Adnan Shaikh
Vikhe Patil Memorial School - Krunaal Tavkar and Jaynandan Gejji
Army School - Gyanendra Mishra and Siddharth Agarwal

The final was a fast paced battle that was brisk, tense and keenly fought from the word go. All teams got off to quick starts and then it seemed like Vikhe Patil and Fergusson College would stride away but some good return strikes by Army School kept them in the hunt.

It was in the buzzer rounds that these teams started moving away from one another and Fergusson College lost out playing some really aggressive buzzer strikes resulting in negatives that were one too many to recover from. The final round was dramatic as the defending champion duo from Army School were 20 points behind Vikhe Patil but with two solid strikes they were level and with one more good strike they were in the lead.

The final question saw Vikhe Patil draw level to force a tie breaker that went on for nearly 15 minutes before the defending champions held their own and made it to the national finale as Pune Champs. The victory reflected the guts of the champs and the tenacity to just not give in but to keep fighting.

The guest of honour the Dr. Jaganath Aghay, noted academician from the College of Engineering Pune, appreciated the students and was crisp in his observation that the “Future CEO’s and CTO’s are seated here”.


Army School

Gyanendra Mishra and Siddharth Agarwal

Runner Up:

Vikhe Patil Memorial School

Krunaal Tavkar and Jaynandan Gejji