Loyola Jamshedpur Impress at Kolkata


Loyola School, Jamshedpur : Abhishek Patra and Shobit M


Heritage School Kolkata : Imon Bhattacharyaa and Ankit M

The TCS IT Wiz at Kolkata is like an annual festival where over 1000 children from across states come in, making it an amazing event. This year too teams came in from Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Siliguri, Durgapur etc. Quizmaster Pickbrain presented a prelim that was of a high standard, covering a wide gamut of topics, that forced the teams to think. The six schools that made it to the final were:

M.P Birla : Zaraksh Rahman and Siddhanth
Little Flower, Jamshedpur : Anish Roy and Shubranil
Heritage School Kolkata : Imon Bhattacharyya and Ankit M
Loyola School, Jamshedpur : Abhishek Patra and Shobit M
DPS Ruby Park, Kolkata : Mayank.K ad Hrishiraj.M
GD Goenka Siliguri : Abishek.A and Aman Dey

The final was an electrifying experience as teams displayed a range of knowledge and understanding of IT that stumped even the TCSers who were in the audience. All teams looked sharp and well prepared scoring on par with each other for the first couple of rounds.

It was only when the buzzers came into play that the boys from Loyola started to accelerate and move ahead of the rest. For a while it looked like the team from Heritage School, Kolkata would narrow the gap with the steel city boys but that was not to be. The Heritage team on their part showed great maturity and adjusted their plans to ensure they finished runner up. The Loyola boys won impressively in the end.

The youngest team on stage were from Siliguri and Pickbrain pointed out that they had a train cancellation the previous day and decided to fly in for the quiz. Such passion and dedication will take them many a mile in their life he observed.

The guest of honour was eminent educationalist, Prof. Partha Pratim Chakraborty, Director, IIT Kharagpur. He appreciated the young students and also foxed them with a poser from his side, that left many pondering. He was joined by Mr.Suresh Menon, Head TCS Kolkata and Mr.Anantakrishnan, CTO, TCS to give away the prizes to the teams and the other winners of the popular twitter contests.


Loyola School, Jamshedpur

Abhishek Patra and Shobit M

Runner Up:

Heritage School Kolkata

Imon Bhattacharyaa and Ankit M