Loyola clinch Kochi thriller


 Loyola School


Bhavan's Adarsha Vidyalaya

A packed hall with close to 1200 kids, not just from Kochi, but from all across Kerala and the tension could be felt even before the first question was fired. The prelim had a good mix of easy, not so easy and tough questions but the 1200 odd kids did well to handle the same. The six schools that qualified were:

Pallikoodam, Kottayam - Roshan Joseph George and Vignesh G
Loyola School, TVM - Achuth Vasudevan and Aju Basil James
Bhavan's Varuna Vidyalaya - Pranav Krishnan P and Amrithraj A
Bhavan's Adarsha Vidyalaya - Aditya Unnikrishnan and Krishna Kumar R
St. Thomas Residential, TVM - Leo Francis and Prithin S Kuruvila
Rajagiri Public School - Joel Moniz and Rahul Mohan

The final began with all teams scoring in the initial rounds with Bhavan's Adarsh Vidyalaya managing to strike an early lead. The battle became interesting as the buzzer round came into play and a few teams took their chances to move forward. It was truly heartening to witness young kids take calculative risks and make decisions that reflected a lot of maturity at a young age.

As the quiz moved from one round to another, Pallikoodam and Loyola came up with some really good answers while St.Thomas scored on the passes to make the battle very interesting and evenly poised. The quality of quizzing was truly high and the teams had all come prepared which meant the margin for error was so thin that the teams started playing cautious as the next set of buzzers came on.

It was here that Pallikoodam tried to surge ahead and ended up with a few negatives, while Loyola, St.Thomas and Bhavan's hung on to a three team race for the coveted title. In the final round, it was edge of seat entertainment as the quiz went down to the final question and ended in a tie between Loyola and Bhavan's Varuna with St.Thomas finishing a close third.In the tie breaker that followed, Loyola School represented by Achuth Vasudevan and Aju Basil James emerged victorious.

This was the fifth year in a row that this team was taking part in the quiz prompting Pickbrain to comment "It is perseverance that has won today". There was a special mention and word of praise from the quizmaster for Rajagiri Public School (Joel Moniz and Rahul Mohan) the youngest team on stage from standard nine, who finished fourth. A great quiz and a fantastic learning experience coupled with lots of fun and amazing prizes for the kids.


Loyola School

Runner Up:

Bhavan's Adarsha Vidyalaya