Visaka Valley win maiden Vizag title


Visaka Valley - Krishna Prakash and Vibhor Pandey


Navy Children - Vipul Shukla and Debabrata Malik

It was a rainy day in the coastal town of Vizag as TCS IT Wiz made its debut. With 300 plus teams braved the rains to be a part of the first edition of the quiz. It also reflected on the interest levels that the schools showed towards computers and technology.

The quiz got underway as Pickbrain walked in to a thunderous applause and was at his charming best, briefly touching on the history of the quiz as he went on to explain the rules and unfolded the prelim. Twenty questions that were not too tough were negotiated well by the schools. The six schools that made it to the final were:

Bethany School - Ms. Swechcha Rai and Arnav Raju
Little Angles - Sundereshwar and Tanmay Sangam
DPS Vizag - Rohan J and Archis Sahu
Navy Children - Vipul Shukla and Debabrata Malik
Timpany School - Dilip Kumar and Avyay G
Visaka Valley - Krishna Prakash and Vibhor Pandey

The final was a swift battle which saw the teams from Bethany, Navy Children and Visaka Valley get off to a quick start and an early lead. After the first couple of rounds the team from Bethany got stranded on the same score for a while as the other two teams made progress. The Navy Children duo were taking their chances but were not able to close in on Visaka Valley who seemed well prepared and had moved to a comfortable position with good answers.

In the final stages of the quiz, the Visaka Valley team did not leave anything to chance as they emerged the first ever champions of TCS IT Wiz from this city. The Navy Children's team held their lead to finish a credible runner up.

The guest of honour Mr. J. Satyanarayana, Advisor to the Govt. of Andhra Pradesh quipped "It feels great. I wish I was 50 years younger", while Mr. Rajanna of TCS underlined that the future will be digital and that these students are ready to be a part of the growth that would be enabled by digital.


Visaka Valley

Krishna Prakash and Vibhor Pandey

Runner Up:

Navy Children

Vipul Shukla and Debabrata Malik