KV Pondy shine at Chennai


KV Puducherry : Jayakrishna and Veda Puriswar


Chettinad Vidyashram : Aditya Nathan and Harsh Yadav

"Usain Bolt can fail but TCS IT Wiz has never failed" was a tweet that did not just win a prize but underlined the reverence with which students viewed the quiz at Chennai. The dimension of the quiz itself had changed this year, with teams from Kotagiri, Kanchipuram, Pondy and Coimbatore all part of what was once just a Chennai city final.

Quizmaster Pickbrain presented a prelim that he himself termed “tough” given that it was a state level quiz, with several cities taking part. The six schools that made it to the final were:

Velammal Bodhi Campus : Abraham and Sachidhananthan
KV Puducherry : Jayakrishna and Veda Puriswar
DAV Mogappair : Khaveesh and Shyam
PS Sr.Sec. School : Karthik S and Mahesh B
Chettinad Vidyashram : Aditya Nathan and Harsh Yadav
St.Judes Kotagiri : Sarath and Ashwin

The final was fast paced and timed for 40 minutes, like a period on a school time table. Created by Blackboard Animation, a Bangalore based company, the software kept the audience thrilled. As Pickbrain went about belting his questions, the duo from KV Pondy, from the word go, were in command, lucky initially to get a few questions passed to them, but truly brilliant on the other racing away to an invincible score.

The quiz also witnessed a pitched battle between the teams from Chettinad Vidyashram and St. Judes with the former inching past the Kotagiri school to clinch the runner up title. The duo from KV, Pondy continued their dominance and went on win the quiz with a record score. They now represent Tamil Nadu in the national final, to be held at Mumbai in December.

The guest of honour was Consulate General of Germany at Chennai, Mr. Achim Fabig who expressed “immense delight” on being part of the quiz and to see the students not just those on stage but in the entire hall glued into technology. He was accompanied by Mr. Suresh Raman, Head of TCS Chennai operations and the host of the city edition of the quiz.


KV Puducherry

Jayakrishna and Veda Puriswar

Runner Up:

Chettinad Vidyashram

Aditya Nathan and Harsh Yadav