Bangalore redefines IT quiz standards


SBM Jain - Radhika Radhakrishnan and Udbhav Tiwari


Kumarans (CBSE)- Milind Hegde and Vikas Kashyap

Wow what a quiz! That's the reaction everyone had as they left the auditorium in Bangalore after witnessing a very high quality quiz that had everyone spellbound.

A twenty question prelim led to the following six teams qualifying into the final.

Kumarans (CBSE)- Milind Hegde and Vikas Kashyap
SBM Jain - Radhika Radhakrishnan and Udbhav Tiwari
NAFL - Abhijit Murthy and Omar Kamal
St.Joshephs - Siddharth Pal and Sonal Saldanha
Cotton Boys - Keshav and Ameen Ahmed
St. Pauls - Pratheek and Arul Prakash

The quiz witnessed a tough start as quizmaster Pickbrain hurled posers that none of the teams could crack, but before that thought even stayed on for a second, the teams changed gears and began producing answers that seemed way ahead of their years. While NAFL took an early lead in the quiz, SBM Jain PU and St.Josephs, Bishop Cottons and Kumaran CBSE all stayed close with good answers getting them off the block.

The next couple of rounds witnessed teams closing in on each other and taking a few risks as well and with one final round remaining five teams had a fair chance of making it to the national final with SBM Jain just a shade ahead of the rest. The final round witnessed tense moments as SBM Jain consolidated and emerged champions, NAFL finished third behind a young Kumarans team that finished a very credible second.

The famous lokayuktha of Karnataka, Mr.Santosh Hegde, was welcomed by the students with a standing ovation and in his crisp speech, he urged them to be ambitious but operate within the framework of law. He also told them to never replace need with greed.


SBM Jain

Radhika Radhakrishnan and Udbhav Tiwari


Kumarans (CBSE)

Milind Hegde and Vikas Kashyap