Mar Baselious stand tall at Kerala


Mar Baselious Kottayam - Thomas John and Thomas Philip


Chinmaya Vidyalaya Tripunitura - Aadith Menon and Goutham H

It was a cloudy morning, the conditions overcast, ideal climate for a good game of cricket. The excitement outside the venue was similar to what one sees at a stadium. Close to 1500 students from across the state of Kerala were there for the city edition of TCS IT Wiz. There was distinct buzz in the air as quizmaster Pickbrain took stage to unfold his questions.

The prelim was not a very difficult affair given that teams qualified to the final had fairly high scores. The six schools that progressed to the final were:

Chinmaya Vidyalaya Vaduthala - Anand Nambiar and Ajay NS
Bhavan's Varuna Vidyalaya - Abhishek Mohan and Rohit Nair
Mar Baselious Kottayam - Thomas John and Thomas Philip
Chinmaya Vidyalaya Tripunitura - Aadith Menon and Goutham H
Sarvodaya Vidyalaya - Alan Santhosh and Zaman Khan
Bhavan's Adarsha Vidyalaya - Sudheesh and Sidharth

The finale was akin to a T20 match. It had a lot of twists and turns as all teams did well to keep pace with each other. The quizmaster brought in the buzzer rounds quickly and said it could be the phase when teams would break free.

The teams were however so close to each other in their ability to answer that all of them kept progressing in step, like a marathon. The quality of the answers from the teams and the audience reflected the very high comfort levels the teams here have with technology.

It all came down to the final round with Chinmaya Vidyalaya (Tripunitura) in the lead with almost all the remaining teams just behind them. The tense scenario prevailed as the quiz moved to the final question. Pickbrain fired his final salvo and the duo from Mar Baselious took a chance on the buzzer to come back from being placed first to emerge winners. The Chinmaya Vidyalaya (Tripunitura) duo had to settle for the runner up title.

The guest of honour Mr. VJ Kurian (IAS), Principal Secretary Water Resources, Govt. of Kerala and Director Kochi Metro appreciated the teams for a grand performance and gave away the prizes. Mr. Dinesh Thampi, VP and Head of TCS Kochi was also present.


Mar Baselious Kottayam

Thomas John and Thomas Philip

Runner Up:

Chinmaya Vidyalaya Tripunitura

Aadith Menon and Goutham H