Army Public triumph at Pune


Army Public School - Gyanendra Mishra and Rishiraj


Modern Jr.College - Tanay Chandkar and Nishad Dawkhar

'This is the kind of quality that gives me an inferiority complex' quipped Mr.Srish Godbole President IT, Suzlon, the guest of honour with a touch of humour as a perfect reflection on the high standards the schools from Pune set at the quiz. A packed auditorium was in rapt attention as Pickbrain thundered with the prelims that led to the following six finalists.

Army Public School - Gyanendra Mishra and Rishiraj
MMCS - Priyam Patki and Tejas Deshpande
Modern Jr.College - Tanay Chandkar and Nishad Dawkhar
Kendriya Vidyalaya - Shreyan Samanta and Gurtej Pal Singh
Delhi Public School - Tanush Chowdhury and Pranav Bolar
St.Vincent's School - Soubhik Das and Akshay Goel

The final started with Modern Jr. getting off to a fast start with both MMCS and Army Public right behind. The very round indicative of a thriller as MMCS and Army Public caught up on lost ground in quick time. At the end of two rounds the three teams were all locked on the same score.

In the rounds that followed the other three teams did try to push their way but could not move ahead. The battle moved quickly with these three teams gaining and loosing ground with one or the other leading after each round. It all came down to the final couple of questions when all three teams were back to sharing the same score before Army Public backed themselves on the final question to clinch the quiz. MMCS misfired in the tie breaker and Modern Jr. were the runner up.

The quizmaster observed that it is possible that Tejas Deshpande who was the defending champion is the only one in the history of the quiz to have qualified for all five years from when he was in class 8 to class 12, describing him as the 'Dravid of IT quizzing in Pune'.

The guest of honour Mr.Srish Godbole President IT, Suzlon and Mr.Anil Sahasrabudhe - Director COE, Pune lauded the teams for a great show while Mr.Sahasrabudhe advised the kids "to pursue research as an option given the smartness they possess".


Army Public School

Gyanendra Mishra and Rishiraj

Runner Up:

Modern Jr.College

Tanay Chandkar and Nishad Dawkhar