Kerala Samajam's maiden win at Kolkata


Kerala Samajam Jamshedpur: Shadan Kalam and Adnan Azmat


Loyola School Jamshedpur: Anirban Paul and Md.Nafees

Any quiz in Kolkata is like a festival. With over 1200 students converging from all over the state and the neighbouring state of Jharkhand the quiz was tense even before the first question was fired. Over 1500 tweets before the quiz underlined the air of expectation. Quizmaster Pickbrain was at his best as he unveiled a tough prelim to set the stage for the finalists.

DPS Ruby Park - Syed Haque and Shreyan Bakshi
Don Bosco Park Circus - Shuvam B and Anirudh Agarwal
Sudhir Memorial Inst - Ananda Majumdar and Sajjan Parinda
Motilal Nehru School, Jamshedpur - Syed Abdullah and Shantanu Kumar
Kerala Samajam Jamshedpur - Shadan Kalam and Adnan Azmat
Loyola School Jamshedpur - Anirban Paul and Md.Nafees

The final was a very nervous and tentative battle as none of the teams got off the block quickly. The quiz moved from one round to another and teams carried the nervousness along.

The buzzers came into play and that helped change the situation as teams took their chances. DPS Ruby Park which did well in first couple of rounds looked tentative on the buzzer, that cost them a bit eventually. Loyola Jamshedpur seemed keen and hungry to win the quiz and tried their very best but the youngest team on stage from Kerala Samajam had a plan in place and backed it with good answers to register an impressive maiden win for their school.

Quizmaster Pickbrain had a special word of praise for Kolkata and said “It is a rare city where children clap not only when teams crack a question, they also clap for a good question even if it unanswered”.

The host Mr.Ajoyendra Mukherjee, Executive Vice President and Global Head of Human Resources, TCS, who was very appreciative of the quiz said “They are part fo an India at the right time and the knowledge and strategy displayed truly impressed me” .The guest of honour was eminent academician and Director of Indian Institute of Engineering, Science and Technology, Shibpur, Prof. Ajoy Kumar Ray who said “I am very confident of the bright future of India and that the future is in very safe hands”.


RajendrKerala Samajam Jamshedpur:

Shadan Kalam and Adnan Azmata Vidyalaya Jamshedpur (JSR)

Runner Up:

Loyola School Jamshedpur:

Anirban Paul and Md.Nafees