Gritty Paulites Win Bengaluru


St Pauls English School: Sucheth Hegde and Rajshankar M


PSBB LLA : Aryan Patel and Pranav Prabhu

A thunderous round of applause greeted noted quiz master Pickbrain as he took the stage to address a packed Chowdiah Memorial Hall in Bengaluru. Observing the participants sitting in the aisles as well, he took a moment to speak about the history of the quiz before beginning with a challenging set of 20 questions to test the gathered teams. The 6 teams that made it to the finals were:


Aryan Patel and Pranav Prabhu

National Public School Indiranagar :

Rohan Kapoor and Nihal John George

St. Paul's English School :

Sucheth Hegde and Rajshankar M

Sri Kumarans (State Board) :

Anvith and Dhruva

RV P.U. College :

Sriniketh and Chandrachud

Sri Kumarans Childrens Home (CBSE) :

Prajwal and Sundararajan

Before the quiz started, Pickbrain sprung a massive surprise on the teams, announcing that, unlike previous editions of the quiz, the entire Bengaluru round would be conducted on the buzzer. However, if this announcement rattled the teams, they did not show it as defending champions PSBB LLA got off to a confident start with a brilliant answer on the buzzers to set the pace.

The other teams took their time to get settled with a couple of teams earning early negatives; the RV PU College team, onstage for the very first time showed some nerves but came back after a shaky start to tie the quiz heading in to the final round.

On the other side, St. Pauls took their time to get their strategy right but backed themselves and took a huge risk with the final question of the quiz, doing enough to also go into the lead, forming a 3-way tie along with RV PU College and the defending champions, PSBB LLA.

This could be daunting to most, but young India is fearless, and it showed. On the very first question of the tiebreaker round, St. Pauls took a huge risk and went for an answer. The risk paid off and they now become the second team to go into the National Round in Mumbai along with DPS Hyderabad.

The battle for second place was still on though, and PSBB LLA showed the value of experience, soaking in the pressure and correctly answering the second question to emerge as runners-up. RV P.U College were left rueing some tough answers that didn’t go their way as they ended up third in a tightly contested final round.
The chief guest, Mr. Nagaraj Ijari, Vice President and Head of Bangalore Operations, TCS, complimented all the teams on their level of preparation and commented on how well they soaked up the pressure to emerge victorious.


St. Paul's English School :

Sucheth Hegde and Rajshankar M

Runner Up :


Aryan Patel and Pranav Prabhu